An Appreciation for Humulus, The Paladin

Welcome back to me! Just kidding, although I do tend to let the blog get a bit dusty. Laeleiweyn from World of Lae started alt appreciation week where bloggers are asked to focus on a class for that particular week. I think it’s no accident that I just found this activity during Paladin week. In honor of that discovery, I decided to play along. Oh, and um…I’ll try to leave this as a draft until I can get home and add some photos (something I sorely lack in all of my posts).

WoWScrnShot_092413_220437

Humulus with his first set of tier gear and first heroic loot drop!

Although my first toon was technically a Warlock on Azjul-Nerub back in BC, I don’t technically count that toon. I don’t think I even got to level 30, and I thought using his sword on auto-attack was a good idea as a filler spell. This was a 3 month affair and then I hung it up, because I simply wasn’t having fun.

A friend invited me back to the game and I accepted and rolled my “real” first toon. This was the first one I’d give a shit about anyway. I rolled this paladin having every intention of raiding, even though I didn’t even know exactly what happened in a raid. I just knew my friend did it 3 times a week and he loved it, so by the gods, I was going to do it too!

Memorable Moments With Humulus

I’ll never forget one of my first mentors for my pally. A woman in our guild who raided with a Resto druid had a Prot/Holy Pally. I wanted to go holy for my off spec and she walked me through my first few dungeons as a healer. I healed all the way from 75 – 80 in random dungeons, and I did ok at it. This wasn’t the memorable part though. When Cata launched, I had switched my main to my Resto Shaman, but Humulus was the first alt to get the nod. I decided I wanted to learn to tank on him. I leveled all the way from 80 to 85 by questing as a Prot Pally. I had a few folks whisper me along the way and ask why I was doing it that way, and I could only respond that I was trying to get comfortable with my abilities, and this was the best way to do without putting a whole 5-man in awkward situations. I already knew that early Cata Heroics were absolutely brutal on healers, so I didn’t want to be that noob tank when I finally got there.

As luck would have it, Dreyhana (the mentor I spoke about earlier) had also switched mains to her Pally as Holy. So here’s the memorable part. When I finally dinged 85, I asked in guild chat who wanted to come with me for my maiden voyage, she volunteered to heal. After completing Deadmines (really? My FIRST heroic is freaking Deadmines?!), she whispers me: “you’re brave. Even I don’t have the balls to tank this expansion.” Of course I reassured her that she was a great player, but I have to admit I felt really good that we made it and got feedback from a player I admired. Humulus has been a main spec Prot Pally ever since, even helping lead an inexperienced guild through all of Cataclysm content, after I had taken a step back from hard core raiding on my Shaman.

WoWScrnShot_092413_220507

Humulus on the most badass mount in the game.

Yeah, we’re stepping backward a bit on this one. Back to WotLK. So after being really bad in the few times I got to raid with the guild, I finally showed enough improvement to where I was granted a legit trial spot on the raid team. On the last night of ICC before Cataclysm launched, the GM decided we would wrap up mount achievements on 25 man. I was so damn excited. It was my first (and coincidentally only) raid mount I earned while content was current. In fact, I flew that mount all the way through Cata, and have only recently switched to the Violet Proto Drake as my main flyer, and that’s really only because I finally earned it this year, after completing Children’s Week.

Where is Humulus Now?

Well, he’s still there. I just leveled him to 90 two weeks ago, and I’ve been lazily playing him since then. I’ve actually decided to dedicate him to earning reputations because he has 30 exalted reps and none of my other toons are even close to that. I’ll tank with him in LFR’s, older Tiers, or Flex raiding, I’m sure. He’s also my miner, and has always been my miner, so I do travel around picking up nodes on occasion. But the days of him being my main have come and gone.

WoWScrnShot_092413_220356

Humulus with his first prot tier set!

Leave a comment