Number 1 or Number 2?

Seasons’ Greetings!

I am really awful at keeping up on this blog, apparently. Don’t get me wrong, I think about it often, I just never get around to it. I’ve had a busy last few months in the World of Warcraft, so I’ll dig right in and get her going.

Dailies for Dailies!

Yeah, everyone in the world talks about these and there are two viable approaches: 1) “I have to do them every day,” and 2) “You don’t NEED to do them every day.” I finally found myself in category number 2, and I’m so happy that I did. You see, when I first got to 90, I was a category 1-er and was getting just as frustrated and burnt out as everyone else who bitches about the daily grind. I had such a hard time figuring out which I wanted to do that day: dailies or dungeons. After about two weeks of this, it finally dawned on me that I could be a 2-er. The 2-ers have it right. There are no ifs, ands, or buts about it. Mathematically, it is impossible to gain reputation AND valor points at a rate fast enough to make them both universally useful at the exact same time. With no single piece being obtainable with even a single week’s worth of valor-capping, it just didn’t make sense to continue burning through the dailies.

Like the 1-ers though, I did want those done and out of the way so what I chose to do was to pick two factions and do their dailies only…and not even every day (/GASP!!!). So, I went with August Celestials and Shado-Pan first, finished those off, then went to Klaxxi, and now I’m on my last couple thousand of Golden Lotus. I have no problem capping every week, I have time to do other things in the game, and I don’t feel like I’m doing the same old tiring bullshit every single day. 1-ers…stop beating yourselves up!!

Saying Goodbye to Friends

This next topic is one I’ve actually already talked about in public in a way. The good folks over at the Tauren Think Tank have read a couple of my letters to them. It’s regarding a long-time real-life friend who I’ve now probably lost. If you recall, I came back to this crazy game in May to help my friend and her husband build their guild into a raiding guild. We never had any intentions of being hard-core, but we certainly didn’t want the “casual” tag. Both of those approaches have their place, but we wanted a happy medium…some structure, if you will.

We had some “success” in the waning days of Cataclysm, but I knew the way we handled things were not going to work in Mists of Pandaria. Why? Because my raid team had not yet faced current tier content which hadn’t been diluted with ridiculous nerfs. As a team, we had not had to face encounters that we didn’t already out-gear.

The problem that I foresaw reared its ugly head right on queue. We weren’t adapting well-enough to mechanics to make a good push for progression. The biggest piece of the issue was that I felt constantly pressured to be more all-inclusive instead of being allowed to pick and choose my raiders based on awareness and basic raid performance. I would be reminded that the control of the raid was completely mine, but then in the next breath pressured to bring certain people along. One of which being the GM’s daughter.

Here’s where it got ugly, and too many personal feelings got involved. I really did enjoy having the daughter along. She is a really nice girl and never has anything negative to say. The problem that I had was that she wouldn’t do the work required to be a contributing part of a raid team, even when given specific tasks to help improve her performance. So, after a few weeks, I made the call that she would no longer be considered in my raid rotation. This ended up causing so much hostility, that I had the GM, the GM’s husband (one of our DPS), and the daughter all upset at me, each other, and it was just too much.

After thinking about it for a bit and realizing that I was causing problems in their actual lives and household, I decided it would be best for me to leave the guild. I knew this would cause them to not have a raid team any longer. I knew this would cause them to dislike me even more. But one thing they probably don’t even realize is that even though I did it for me, I also did it for them. I can no longer cause them any animosity because of my decisions. I won’t cause the GM to choose between my raid leadership and her family. This is a GOOD thing for them….but they don’t even realize it.

What happened after I left was something that I suspected would happen: The entire raid team followed me over. I knew this would be the case from some of the people because they flat out told me they would come if I started my own thing. After everyone left the old guild though, RealID friends were removed, alts were gkicked, and no lines of communication were still open. I was a bit sad for a couple days about this, but realized that if that’s the attitude that was going to be taken, it wasn’t in my best interest to remain friends anyway.

And Now!

Because we moved the entire raid team over, we were able to start raiding right away. The holiday season boss has held us back from progression a bit, but I know we will get in there and be able to start moving forward again. I don’t think that we’ll realistically be able to clear 16/16 while current, because of the mess, but I feel confident that tier 15 will be much better for our guild.

I have loads more to say, mostly about the troubles of guild leadership, but I’ll save that for another post.

Leave a Reply

